To excerpt or not to excerpt

A thought occurs to me. Is it better to excerpt your blog posts on the home page, essentially giving the reader a little teaser that he then follows to the article’s page; or do we throw the entire text of the article onto the home page and be done with it?

Maybe if I had advertisements on this site, I would care more about page visits, and therefore, I would have an incentive to get people to visit as many pages on this site as possible by showing the teasers on the home page. But I have no ads.

So while I like the look of a page full of excerpts leading to the full articles — it looks so very newspapery, is it good blog practice to make a visitor click through?

Leave a Reply

