Old friends never die, nor do they fade away

Scott Brown at Wired examines the always-growing economy of friendship on social networking sites like Facebook, where digital permanence makes losing touch nearly impossible.

We squirrel away Friends the way our grandparents used to save nickels—obsessively, desperately, as if we’ll run out of them some day… Friends are the currency of the socially networked world; therefore, it follows that more equals better.

Losing touch with friends, letting those old junior high friendships die their quiet deaths, is “sweet and sad and though you’d rarely admit it, necessary.”

One thought on “Old friends never die, nor do they fade away

  1. I have to agree. I have all these “friends” from high school on Facebook, and I'm thinking, “these people weren't really my friends then, why do I care now what they are doing?”. But there are a few folks I am glad I reconnected with.

Leave a Reply

