Link magic

I once questioned the value of links. I didn’t think they were as valuable as they once were, for some reason that I can’t remember now. But my experience with links today has shown me how truly wonderful they can be.

I wrote a small blog post about a new story that caught my eye — about some police officers in Massachusetts trying to get Sept. 11 as a paid holiday. The short post related only the facts from an AP story, nothing more than a little post to spark my memory, right?

Well, as it turns out, CNN linked to that post through its Sphere Related Content plugin. Within minutes, I had commenters pouring onto my site, finding their way to my little corner of the Web via CNN.

All I can say is, wow. I’ll never underestimate the power of a well-placed link again. As for the traffic… It’s great and all, but I kind of wish that it was directed at a post that was actually related to the theme of my blog, rather than a random post about a subject that caught my eye. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

