Wiki War

An article by Stephanie Simon on today’s latimes.com tells of how wiki software has been politicized.

Christian home-school teacher Andy Schlafly became upset when one of his students used “BCE” instead of “BC” in a class report. The source used was Wikipedia.

In response, Schlafly started Conservapedia (which I will not link here out of personal preference–I don’t want to contribute to its Page Rank if I don’t have to). The site retells history with a right-wing, Christ-based perspective.

Some have taken up keyboards against Conservapedia, namely the writers at RationalWiki.com (which I like because I want to and because this is my blog, after all, though I decry this partisan crap).

Leave a Reply

